Can I Eat It? The Maybe Guide

GLUTEN FREE EVERYWHERE!

The food industry is really excited about the ‘free from’ market.  The gluten free market alone is worth £365 million to food manufacturers and retailers, and is predicted to keep growing massively year on year.  Good news for us as they continue to create new products and line the aisles with gluten free goodies – making the transition to living gluten free so much less over whelming.

 

CAN I EAT IT?

AT A GLANCE – MAYBE?

 

  • Anything made by a food manufacturer, such as fruit pie filling, cauliflower cheese for example – you might not expect such things to have gluten in.  But gluten is often  added as a food stabiliser.
  • Sausages, burgers for the same reason. Sausages normally have bulkers in them that may contain gluten
  • Oven chips, crisps, coated nuts coated fish and similar ‘ready to go’ foods. Gluten may be in a coating.
  • Lemon curd, peanut butter, ketchup – with any condiment check the label first
  • Anything manufactured – chocolate, sweets, ice-cream, baked beans, sauces – anything made by a company could have gluten in it.
  • See the pattern now! Labels, labels, labels!

 

Labels

 

INGREDIENT

S: Water, Carrots, Onions, Red
Lentils (4.5%) Potatoes, Cauliflower, Leeks,
Peas, Cornflour, Wheatflour, Salt, Cream (milk),
Yeast Extract, Concentrated Tomato Paste,
Garlic, Sugar, Celery Seed, Vegetable Oil
(sunflower), Herb and Spice, White Pepper,
Parsley.
ALLERGY ADVICE
For allergens, see ingredients in bold.

Leave a Comment